CDFA - About: History, Leadership & Staff


The Council of Development Finance Agencies is a national association dedicated to the advancement of development finance concerns and interests. CDFA is comprised of the nation’s leading and most knowledgeable members of the development finance community representing 300 public, private and non-profit development entities. Members are state, county and municipal development finance agencies and authorities that provide or otherwise support economic development financing programs, including tax-exempt and taxable bonds, credit enhancement programs, and direct debt and equity investments as well as a variety of non-governmental and private organizations ranging from regional and large investment banks to commercial finance companies to bond counsel, bond insurers, trustees, venture capital companies, rating agencies, and other organizations interested in development finance.

The Council was formed in 1982 with the mission to strengthen the efforts of state and local development finance agencies fostering job creation and economic growth through the use of tax-exempt and other public-private partnership finance programs. Today, CDFA has one of the strongest voices in the development finance industry and regularly communicates with Capitol Hill, state and local government leaders and the Federal Administration. The Council provides a number of avenues for assisting the development finance industry including education, advocacy, research, resources and networking.

CDFA is ultimately the conduit linking development finance professionals together. CDFA has a rich history and is considered the industry expert within the federal government, on Capitol Hill and throughout the entire development finance industry.

Board Leadership

CDFA is governed by a 32-member Board of Directors. Policy is developed by the Board of Directors based on committee recommendations and concerns of the membership.

Chairman, Steve Johnson, Manager, Colorado Housing and Finance Authority, CO
Vice Chairman, John Saris, Business Services Manager, Business Oregon, OR
Treasurer, James Parks, President & CEO, Louisiana Public Facilities Authority, LA
Secretary, Steve Chilton, Senior Vice President, MassDevelopment, MA

Joseph Branca, Managing Director, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, NY
Gregory Cole, Program, Manager, Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development, MD
Gene Eagle, Vice President, Arkansas Development Finance Authority, AR
Terry Finn, President, Stern Brothers & Co., St. Louis, MO
Richard Frampton, Vice President, Illinois Finance Authority, IL
Jeffrey Freese, Managing Director, KeyBanc Capital Markets, OH
Jonathan Gouveia, Senior Vice President, New York City Economic Development Corporation, NY
Maureen Hassett, Senior VP, New Jersey Economic Development Authority, NJ
Harry Huntley, Executive Director, South Carolina Jobs-Economic Development Authority, SC
Doug Lamb, Partner, McGuire Woods LLP, VA
Bob Lind, Director, Business Finance, City of Minneapolis, MN
Tina Neal, Principal, Perseverance Capital Advisors LLC, VA
Richard Palank, Senior Vice President, Business Finance, St. Louis County Economic Council, MO
Michael Pehur, Development Finance Consulting Director, Duane Morris Government Strategies, PA
Tony Portuondo, Managing Director, The Bank of New York Mellon, FL
Patrick Ray, Managing Partner, Kutak Rock LLP - Arizona, AZ
Amanda Rhein, Senior Project Manager, Invest Atlanta, GA
Gurbax Sahota, President & CEO, California Association for Local Economic Development, CA
Steven Schoeny, Development Director, City of Columbus, OH
Gary Smith, President/CEO, Chester County Industrial Development Authority, PA
James Snyder, Partner, Ice Miller
Sean Spear, Executive Director, California Debt Limit Allocation Committee, Treasurer's Office, CA
Cheryl Strickland, First Vice President, Stifel Nicolaus & Company, Inc.
Cam Turner, Principal, United Fund Advisors, Portland, OR
Frances Walton, Chief Financial Officer, Empire State Development Corporation, NY
John Wooten, Director; Head of Municipal Placements, Wells Fargo Securities, NC

Emeritus Director, Mark Huston, Portfolio Manager, Development Capital Networks, OR

General Counsel, Arthur Cohen, Counsel, Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP, NY
Legislative Representative, Eric Silva, Winston & Strawn, Washington, DC

CDFA Staff & Advisors

CDFA's staff and advisors carry out the day-to-day administration of the Council. To contact a member of the staff or an advisor, use the following information.

Toby Rittner, President & CEO, 614-224-1300
Katie Kramer, Vice President, 614-224-1316
Samantha Lynch, Manager, State Programs Outreach, 614-224-1300
Lori Griffin, Chief Financial Officer, 614-224-1300
Erin Tehan, Director of Advancement, 614-224-1323
Vacant, Director, Research & Advisory Services, 614-224-1315
Kevin White, Legislative & Federal Affairs Coordinator, 614-224-1300
Kimberly Deardurff, Manager, Development, 614-224-1335
Logan Dawson, Resources Coordinator, 614-224-1327
Kurt Dieringer, State Programs Coordinator, 614-224-1325
Kara Knight, Training Coordinator, 614-224-1316
Stephanie Ortega, Membership Administrator, 614-224-1317
Eric Silva, Legislative Representative, Winston & Strawn, 202-282-5745
Jerry J. Arkebauer, Bond Finance Course Advisor, 614-224-1300
Tony Q. Smith, Tax Increment Finance Course Advisor, 614-224-1300
Dana Sumner, Revolving Loan Fund Course Advisor, 614-224-1300
Sam DeNies, Network Administrator, 614-224-1300

CDFA mailing address:

Council of Development Finance Agencies
85 E. Gay Street, Suite 700
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614-224-1300