CDFA - About: History, Leadership & Staff
Follow CDFA on Twitter
CDFA Upcoming Events

CDFA New York/New Jersey Conference
Newark, NJ
September 17, 2015

CDFA Wisconsin Conference
Madison, WI
September 30, 2015

Intro Revolving Loan Fund WebCourse
September 30-October 1, 2015
Daily: 12-5pm (EDT)

CDFA Michigan Conference
Detroit, MI
October 7, 2015

CDFA Washington Conference
Seattle, WA
October 13, 2015

CDFA Oregon Conference
Portland, OR
October 15, 2015

CDFA Kentucky Conference
Lexington, KY
October 22, 2015

CDFA South Carolina Conference
Charleston, SC
November 3, 2015

CDFA National Development Finance Summit
Charleston, SC
November 3-6, 2015

Intro Brownfields Finance Course
Charleston, SC
November 4, 2015

CDFA Arizona Conference
Phoenix, AZ
November 17, 2015

CDFA California Conference
Sacramento, CA
November 19, 2015

Fundamentals of Economic Development Finance WebCourse
January 27-28, 2016
Daily: 12-5pm (EDT)


The Council of Development Finance Agencies is a national association dedicated to the advancement of development finance concerns and interests. CDFA is comprised of the nation’s leading and most knowledgeable members of the development finance community representing 400+ public, private and non-profit development entities. Members are state, county and municipal development finance agencies and authorities that provide or otherwise support economic development financing programs, including tax-exempt and taxable bonds, credit enhancement programs, and direct debt and equity investments as well as a variety of non-governmental and private organizations ranging from regional and large investment banks to commercial finance companies to bond counsel, bond insurers, trustees, venture capital companies, rating agencies, and other organizations interested in development finance.

The Council was formed in 1982 with the mission to strengthen the efforts of state and local development finance agencies fostering job creation and economic growth through the use of tax-exempt and other public-private partnership finance programs. Today, CDFA has one of the strongest voices in the development finance industry and regularly communicates with Capitol Hill, state and local government leaders and the Federal Administration. The Council provides a number of avenues for assisting the development finance industry including education, advocacy, research, resources and networking.

CDFA is ultimately the conduit linking development finance professionals together. CDFA has a rich history and is considered the industry expert within the federal government, on Capitol Hill and throughout the entire development finance industry.

Board Leadership

CDFA is governed by a 32-member Board of Directors. Policy is developed by the Board of Directors based on committee recommendations and concerns of the membership.

Chairman, Steve Johnson, Manager, Colorado Housing and Finance Authority, CO
Vice Chairman, John Saris, Business Services Manager, Business Oregon, OR
Treasurer, James Parks, President & CEO, Louisiana Public Facilities Authority, LA
Secretary, Steve Chilton, Senior Vice President, MassDevelopment, MA

Joseph Branca, Managing Director, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, NY
Gregory Cole, Program, Manager, Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development, MD
Price Finley, Partner, Bricker & Eckler LLP, OH
Terry Finn, President, Stern Brothers & Co., MO
Richard Frampton, Vice President, Illinois Finance Authority, IL
Jeffrey Freese, Managing Director, KeyBanc Capital Markets, OH
Jeree Glasser-Hedrick, Executive Director, CDLAC, California Treasurer's Office, CA
Maureen Hassett, Senior VP, New Jersey Economic Development Authority, NJ
Harry Huntley, Executive Director, South Carolina Jobs-Economic Development Authority, SC
Courtney Knight, Managing Director, Invest Atlanta, GA
Doug Lamb, Partner, McGuire Woods LLP, VA
Jeffrey Lee, Senior VP, New York City Economic Development Corporation, NY
Bob Lind, Director, Business Finance, City of Minneapolis, MN
David Massa, Senior Vice President, U.S. Bank, NY
David Misky, Assistant Executive Director, Redevelopment Authority of the City of Milwaukee, WI
Tina Neal, Senior Vice President, Davenport & Company LLC, VA
Richard Palank, Senior Vice President, St. Louis Economic Development Partnership, MO
Michael Pehur, Development Finance Consulting Director, Duane Morris Government Strategies, PA
Tony Portuondo, Managing Director, The Bank of New York Mellon, FL
Patrick Ray, Managing Partner, Kutak Rock LLP - Arizona, AZ
Gurbax Sahota, President & CEO, California Association for Local Economic Development, CA
Carlton Schwab, President & CEO, Texas Economic Development Council, TX
Gary Smith, President/CEO, Chester County Industrial Development Authority, PA
James Snyder, Partner, Ice Miller, IL
Cheryl Strickland, First Vice President, Stifel Nicolaus & Company, Inc., GA
Cam Turner, Principal, United Fund Advisors, Portland, OR
John Wooten, Director; Head of Municipal Placements, Wells Fargo Securities, NC

Emeritus Director, Mark Huston, Portfolio Manager, Development Capital Networks, OR

General Counsel, Arthur Cohen, Counsel, Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP, NY
Legislative Representative, Eric Silva, Winston & Strawn, Washington, DC

CDFA Staff & Advisors

CDFA is managed by a professional staff headquartered in Columbus, OH. The staff and various advisors carry out the day-to-day administration of the Council. To contact a member of the staff or an advisor, use the following information.

Toby Rittner, President & CEO, 614-705-1300
Katie Kramer, Vice President, 614-705-1316
Jason Rittenberg, Director, Research & Advisory Services, 614-705-1315
Emily Moser, Program Manager, 614-705-1305
Valerie Gulick, Chief Financial Officer, 614-705-1300
Kimberly Deardurff, Manager, Development, 614-705-1302
Kelly Danison, Manager, State Programs Outreach (Mid-America Region), 614-705-1319
Tessie Smith, Manager, State Programs Outreach (Western Region), 614-705-1301
Cayla Adams, Manager, State Programs Outreach (Southern Region), 614-705-1318
Candace Frank, Manager, State Programs Outreach, 614-705-1310
Marisa Maehler, Membership Coordinator, 614-705-1300
Vacant, Marketing & Communications Coordinator, 614-705-1300
Vacant, Legislative & Federal Affairs Coordinator, 614-705-1317
Pete Mathews, Resources Coordinator, 614-705-1307
Kara Knight, Training Coordinator, 614-705-1303
Jakob Dyck, Program Coordinator, 614-705-1306
Katherine Sims, Resources Coordinator, 614-705-1308
Sam Stouffer, Research Intern, 614-705-1309
TK Song, Research Intern, 614-705-1300
Eric Silva, Legislative Representative, Winston & Strawn, 202-282-5745
Tony Q. Smith, Tax Increment Finance Course Advisor
Brian Cooper, Bond Finance Course Advisor
Sam DeNies, Network Administrator

CDFA mailing address:

Council of Development Finance Agencies
100 E. Broad Street, Suite 1200
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614-705-1300

Non-Discrimination Policy
The Council of Development Finance Agencies does not discriminate in any manner contrary to law or justice on the basis of race, color, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, disability, veteran's status or national origin in its programs or activities, including employment, membership, participation and sponsorship.